BERMZYNAIJA

MUSIC | VIDEO | NEWS | GIST | SPORTS | ENTERTAINMENT

My dad didn’t support my music career — Joe El

Leave a comment

The extent a man can go to pursue his dream is evident in the career choice of up-and-coming afro R’n’B singer, Joel Amadi, whose stage name is Joe El.

The soft-spoken entertainer who hails from Kaduna State said he left his father’s house at age 21 having noticed that his father was uncomfortable with his interest in music.

He said, ‘‘I took the decision to leave home when I noticed that my father was not happy with the fact that I abandoned my certificate in accounting and auditing for music. My father knew I am talented musically, but he felt I would be unable to record a song as a solo artiste. He wanted me to remain a chorister in our church in Kaduna. But I already saw the big picture and didn’t want anything to stop me. ’’

The entertainer added that they only spoke on the telephone for a year. ‘‘My mother and sister love what I do and I was extremely happy the day my father showed interest in what I do, ’’ he stated.

The singer, who has six singles, with You Are In Love currently making waves on radio, said he was determined to make a creative statement in the industry.

Joe El, who said he sings love songs because ladies connect quickly to good music, added,
‘‘Ladies love good songs and men too. But when a song is dedicated to ladies, men will like it too because they also want to use its lyrics to woo their women. I do not only sing love songs. I also sing about culture and issues that require awareness.’’

For now, he is not releasing an album because, according to him, music now requires more creativity as fans can download songs online.

He stated, ‘‘Albums are now for record purposes and any artiste who wants to be relevant must devise new musical strategies in this age of technology

Author: bermzynaija

I'm a proffesional EDITOR, PUBLISHER and WEB DESIGNER

Leave a comment